diy koshihimo

Finally finished making a pair of koshihimo, with some help from Mom. Sewing your own stuff is therapeutic and rather easy, as long as you keep a focused sort of  attention. I have to say that I feel a small sense of accomplishment… and look forward to making the next pair on my own, with very little guidance.

I’d post the steps I took in making a pair but I really don’t want to ruin the Flickr quota since we have the furisodes we ordered arriving soon… and we really REALLY want to show those off.

koshihimo

It’s a little on the wide side. Most koshihimo I’ve seen on sites are about an inch wide. I’ve made mine about 1.75-2 inches. Mainly because I don’t really like the narrow ones and making it a little wider was easier to work with. I’ve also made it longer so this first pair is really 1.75 x 84 inches.

I might make the future ones narrower but meh, you can fold a wider koshihimo in half but you can’t spread open a narrow one, right?

またあした
Blossom
blossom

5 Comments

  1. plumandblossom said,

    September 6, 2009 at 8:36 pm

    I have a feeling that wider ones would be better since they hold the kimono closed without too much pressure exerted on your skin, meaning you could tie them tighter. Good job on these! I await my pair soon hurhurhur.

    ~Plum

    • plumandblossom said,

      September 6, 2009 at 8:47 pm

      Thanks!

      You’ve yet to pay your share of the fabric cost. <_<;

      ~Blossom

      • plumandblossom said,

        September 6, 2009 at 8:52 pm

        <_<; okay! lol

  2. buknuk said,

    September 27, 2009 at 7:25 pm

    Hey, you have a great blog here! I’m definitely going to bookmark you! Thank you for your info.And this is Home Improvement site/blog. It pretty much covers Home Improvement related stuff.

    • plumandblossom said,

      September 27, 2009 at 7:49 pm

      Thanks very much for the encouragement! 🙂 When I re-do my room, I’ll definitely read through the tips on the site. Looks good and informative.

      ~Blossom


Leave a Reply

